Prince Albert News | Local Breaking | CTV News Prince Albert

CTV News Saskatoon Top Stories


Don't Miss Videos Top Stories


WATCH LIVE | Canada expanding Omicron travel ban to include more countries

Canada is adding Nigeria, Malawi and Egypt to the list of countries subjected to federal travel restrictions due to concerns over the Omicron variant, CTV News has confirmed. Federal ministers and public health officials will be announcing this shortly at an update on the latest measures Canada is taking in response to the variant of concern.

Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos and Chief Public Health Officer Theresa Tam listen to a question during a news conference, Friday, November 26, 2021 in Ottawa. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Adrian Wyld

Unvaccinated travellers barred from planes and trains as of today

Unvaccinated travellers over the age of 12 won't be able to board a plane or passenger train in Canada beginning today, and a negative COVID-19 test will no longer serve as a substitute for most people. The stringent new requirement comes into effect as Canada reacts to the emergence of the Omicron variant.