Several major cabinet portfolios were left untouched Thursday as Saskatchewan Premier Brad Wall unveiled a cabinet shuffle.

Wall shuffled the responsibilities of about half his ministers but kept several ministers, including finance, education, health and agriculture, in their positions.

“Our province’s economy remains strong and as a government, we are working to ensure all Saskatchewan people share in the benefits of a growing economy,” Wall said in a media release. “I believe this new cabinet strikes the right balance and will keep our growth agenda on track.”

Ken Krawetz, who recently announced he would not be running in the next general election, will remain finance minister. Don Morgan keeps his spot as education minister, Dustin Duncan remains as the health minister and Lyle Stewart will continue as Minister of Agriculture.

Minister Don McMorris is one of five current ministers whose portfolios changed.

McMorris drops from the Minister of Highways and Infrastructure position to become the minister responsible for Crown Investments Corporation, Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority, Saskatchewan Government Insurance, the Public Service Commission and the Lean initiative.

“Many Saskatchewan people have been telling me they would like to see more private liquor retail options in our province,” Wall said. “I have asked Minister McMorris, as SLGA minister, to look at various options and consider what makes sense for our province.”

Donna Harpauer, former crown investments minister, takes on the Minister of Social Services position. Kevin Doherty moves from parks, culture and sport minister to advanced education minister. Nancy Heppner becomes Minister of Highways, and Tim McMillan takes on the position of minister responsible for rural and remote health.

New faces to the cabinet include Jennifer Campeau, Scott Moe and Mark Docherty as central services minster, environment minister and Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport, respectively.

Former minister Jeremy Harrison returns to cabinet as the associate minister of economy and will be responsible for trade, tourism, innovation and immigration.

The number of ministers remains at 18, including Wall.

Several high-profile ministers including Rob Norris, June Draude, Randy Weekes and Ken Cheveldayoff will not be returning — though Cheveldayoff will take on a position as Government House Leader.

Ministers whose portfolios remained mostly unchanged — aside from Krawetz, Morgan, Duncan and Stewart — include Bill Boyd (economy), Gordon Wyant (justice and attorney general), Jim Reiter (government relations) and Christine Tell (minister responsible for corrections and policing).

--- The re-shuffled cabinet consists of:

Brad Wall

Ken Krawetz (finance)

Bill Boyd (economy)

Don McMorris (crown investments, liquor and gaming, Lean)

Don Morgan (education, labour relations)

Donna Harpauer (social services)

Dustin Duncan (health)

Gordon Wyant (justice)

Tim McMillan (rural and remote health)

Jim Reiter (government relations and First Nations, Metis and Northern Affairs)

Lyle Stewart (agriculture)

Nancy Heppner (highways)

Christine Tell (corrections and policing)

Kevin Doherty (advanced education)

Jeremy Harrison (associate economy responsible for immigration, innovation, tourism and trade)

Jennifer Campeau (central services)

Scott Moe (environment)

Mark Docherty (parks, culture and sport)