Moose Jaw North

Warren Michelson

Saskatchewan Party – Warren Michelson

Warren Michelson was born in Lipton, Sask. and grew up on the family farm north of that community. After graduation Warren started working in the communication industry, holding employment in television and radio for more than 30 years. Other than a six-month stint in British Columbia, Warren has resided in Saskatchewan all is life, taking residence throughout a variety of communities; including Estevan, Weyburn, Regina, Melfort, Saskatoon, and Swift Current, before moving to Moose Jaw thirteen years ago.

He has worked in a variety of management and consulting positions throughout his career including two years with the Saskatchewan Newspaper Group, where he worked until his election into the Legislature.

Warren's commitments to community volunteer service includes past member of the Moose Jaw Hospital Foundation and past directorship of the Moose Jaw Chamber of Commerce. He is the co-founder and past chairperson of the Moose Jaw Business Network, and has also taken an active part in the lay ministries of his church. From 2000 to 2006, Warren held a seat on the Senate of the University of Regina.

Provincially, Warren has been involved with the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce for the past 13 years, serving as provincial president in 2004-05. During his chamber presidency, the chamber led the business coalition to defeat the "available hours" legislation of the former NDP Government.

His many accomplishments and leadership capabilities were recognized in the Saskatchewan Business Magazine when he was acknowledged as one of "Saskatchewan's Men of Influence" in March of 2004.

He was elected to the provincial legislature in November 2007 and served as the chair of the Legislative Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice as well as chair of the caucus Standing Policy Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice.

Warren ran for the Saskatchewan Party because he believes "Saskatchewan has so much potential with all we have been blessed with" and that we need to create opportunities here rather than sending our young people to other jurisdictions.

His proudest moment was walking into the legislative building for the very first time. "I enjoyed my duties and being part of a forward-thinking government, especially being able help people in need."

Warren and his wife Debbie have four adult children and two lively grandchildren, who all make Saskatchewan home.

Derek Hassen

NDP – Derek Hassen

At age 37, Derek Hassen is a 13-year educator and seven-year school administrator. He graduated with a bachelor of education degree in 1998.

Returning to school, he completed a bachelor of arts degree and a master of education degree.

Seven years ago he became a vice-principal, and three years later was hired as principal. Currently, Derek is on leave from his administrative duties to ensure both school and campaign are properly looked after.

Derek and his wife Amanda are active in their church and volunteer their time for many community initiatives.

In 2006, Derek and Amanda spent two months volunteering in South Africa where they spent time with sick children. This is an experience that they describe as life changing. Derek and Amanda along with their dog London live in the Moose Jaw North constituency.

Rick Swenson

Progressive Conservative Party – Rick Swenson

Rick was born and raised in the Baildon district, southeast of Moose Jaw. He was elected to the Saskatchewan legislature in 1985 in the constituency of Thunder Creek.

He was re-elected in the 1986 and 1991 provincial elections and served as legislative secretary to the minister of agriculture.

Rick was appointed minister of energy and mines (1989), minister responsible for SEDCO (1989), minister responsible for the Saskatchewan Research Council (1989) and minister of Indian and Metis affairs (1991).

He served as acting leader of the opposition in 1993 and 1994 and retired from political life in 1995.

Rick was elected by the PC Party of Sask membership to be one of the 10 party trustees to oversee the two-election hiatus voted on in fall of 1997.

Rick was elected by the executive committee of the PC Party of Saskatchewan to the position of party leader in 2004.

Green Party – Danny Robilliard

(No photo or biography available)

2007 election results

Warren Michelson (Saskatchewan Party) – 3,960 (45.8%)

Glenn Hagel (NDP) – 3,927 (45.4%)

John Morris (Liberal Party) – 627 (7.2%)

Deanna Robilliard (Green Party) – 126 (1.4%)